header images


Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia

Issued by participants of the Fourth meeting of Carpathian's Region Rectors

Rzeszow, Poland, April 12-13, 1996

Representatives of the member universities of the Association of the Carpathian Region Universities (ACRU) have expressed their interest to continue in mutual cooperation in the field of education, research and university public services and to foster also mutual cultural and social contacts.

Participants have expressed their thanks to the organizers of the meeting, Pedagogical University of Rzeszow and especially to Prof. Kazimierz Sowa, rector of the University.

During the 4th Rectors' Conference three higher education institutions were approved by the general Council as regular members of the ACRU:
  • Kossuth Lajos University, Debrecen, Hungary
  • Babes Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
  • Teachers Training College, Nyiregyhaza, Hungary

Participants of the Rectors' Conference welcomed the development of the projects "Building Bridges" and "Resource, Acquisition and Management" and appreciate the effort of Mr. Bob Thomas, director of the Building Bridges project and Dr. David Daniel, consultant to the RAM Project.

The participants approved an annual membership fee of $750 for 1996.

The participants of the 4th ACRU Rectors' Conference approved amendments to the Constitution. The modified version of the Constitution is enclosed.

The General Council settled the date of the election of the President of the Association for the Rectors' Conference in 1997. Until the new election, the position of the ACRU President will be occupied by Prof. Karol Florian, rector of the Technical University of Kosice and the position of Secretary General by Assoc. Prof. Tomas Sabol, TU Kosice.

ACRU members countries nominated the following people:
  • Members of the Auditing Committee:
    • Gabor Marton - University of Miskolc, Hungary
    • Stepan Kovacs - Uzgorod State University, Ukraine
    • Gerban Agachi - Babes-Bolyai University, Romania
    • Andrzej Golas - University of Mining and Metallurgy, Poland
  • National Coordinators:
    • Gyula Patko - University of Miskolc, Hungary
    • Yurij Rashkevich - State University Lviv Polytechnic, Ukraine
    • Sczepan Wolinski - Rzeszow University of Technology, Poland
    • Serban Agachi - Babes-Bolyai University, Romania