header images


Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia

13 th ACRU Annual Conference

Oradea , Romania , September 23-24, 2004
The meeting was begun at 9:30am September 24, 2004.

The welcome speech was delivered by prof. Teodor Traian Maghiar, rector of the University of Oradea . Then prof. A. Nagy, president of ACRU opened the ACRU Annual Conference 2004.

After introduction of all members present at the meeting, it was concluded that eight ACRU member universities are present, and there are seven justified absences (University of P.J. Šafárik; University of Veterinary Medicine ; Debrecen University; Lviv Polytechnic State University; Uzhgorod State University ; Uzhgorod Institute of Information Science, Economics and Law ; Babes-Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca). The Military Aviation Academy of General Milan Rastislav Štefánik, Kosice ceased to exist as a legal body and was joined with the Technical University of Kosice and thus has to be dropped from the list of ACRU members. General Secretary also informed the General Assembly that he received a message from prof. Yuriy Rashkevich confirming that Kolomiya College of Law and Business and Lviv Academy of Commerce decided to withdraw from ACRU due to financial and organisational difficulties. Prof. I. Kopych, vice-rector of Lviv Academy of Commerce confirmed the withdrawal of his institution in his mail to the Secretary General . The General Assembly took due notice of this fact.

The General Council was deemed to be constituted, since according to Article 10, paragraph 6 of the Constitution, justified absences are not taken into account for deciding the quorum.

The Secretary General informed the participants about activities and projects carried out since 12 th ACRU Annual Conference. He presented also a financial report since the previous Annual Conference.

The representatives of the ACRU member universities, who took part in the 13 th ACRU Annual Conference, accepted the Activity and Financial report as presented by the Secretary General. Tomas Sabol put forward also some ideas for future ACRU activities. The ACRU representatives present added other possibilities of cooperation – Socrates Mundus, Tempus Tacis, CEEPUS programmes, etc. As priority areas for future activities were accepted: regional development, cross border cooperation and implementation of Bologna declaration, organisation of joint international courses, supporting mobility and economic development within the region.
As members of the Auditing Committee were nominated prof. Y. Rashkevich, Ukraine ; prof. G. Heltai, Hungary ; prof. A. Dodescu, Romania .

Prof. G. Heltai informed the participants about the NATO Environmental and Catastrophy Defence Conference in 2004 organised by the Szent Istvan University . All present ACRU members also presented activities and structural changes going on at their home universities.
The ACRU representatives present have again discussed the issue of PhD student mobility grants. It was reiterated that the potential of this programme has not been fully used in the past. Applications for these grants can be submitted to Secretary General via National Coordinators.

Based on the expressed interest, two new ACRU members were unanimously approved by the General Assembly: the Karol Adamiecki University of Econmoics, Katowice , Poland , and the “December 1 st 1918” University of Alba Iulia , Romania .
Ms. Beata Palfalvy Sandor was awarded an individual ACRU membership.

The members were asked to use the ACRU Web page for exchange of information about activities, workshops, and projects organized by their universities.

The participants expressed thanks to prof. Maghiar, the Rector of the Oradea University , as well as to prof. Ioan Horga and his colleagues for organization of the ACRU Annual Conference 2004.

It was agreed that the Annual Conference 2005 will take place in Rzeszow , Poland and will be organized by the University of Rzeszow . The exact date will be announced by the ACRU representative of the University of Rzeszow by the end of January 2005 at the latest. It was also agreed that member universities from Romania will nominate a next candidate for the post of ACRU president who should be elected at the Annual Conference 2005.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30pm September 24, 2004.

Oradea , September 24, 2004
Prof. Aladar Nagy
President of ACRU
Tomas Sabol
Secretary General of ACRU

13 th ACRU Annual Conference
Oradea , Romania , September 23-24, 2004

Present ACRU universities and their representatives:
  • Technical University of Kosice , Kosice , prof. Karol Florian, vice-rector
  • University of Rzeszow, Rzeszow, Lucyna Kustra
  • University of Miskolc , Miskolc , prof. Aladar Nagy, Vice-rector
  • Szent István University , Godollo, prof. Gyorgy Heltai
  • University of Oradea , Oradea , prof. Ioan Horga, head of International Relations Dept.
  • University of Petrosani, Petrosani, prof. Iosif Andras
  • “Aurel Vlaicu” University of Arad , Arad , prof. Ioan Radu, Vice-rector
  • Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas, Ivano-Frankivsk, prof. Stepan Chekhovsky, Dean
  • University of Economics in Katowice , Katowice , prof. Jan Wojtyla, Dean
  • “December 1 st 1918” University of Alba Iulia , Alba Iulia , prof. Achim Ioan Moisa, rector