header images


Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia

8th ACRU Annual Conference

Lviv, Ukraine, May 31 – June 2, 1999
The meeting was begun at 10:00am June 1, 1999.

The representatives of the ACRU member universities, who took part in the 8th ACRU Annual Conference, accepted the financial reports as presented by the Secretary General, Tomas Sabol.

The Secretary General informed the participants about the projects LEONARDO and TEMPUS IB, ACRU is involved in as a Slovak partner, and also about rules of participation related to these projects. Results of the projects should be disseminated among ACRU member universities. The ACRU members were encouraged to include ACRU as a partner also in other international projects.

The ACRU members were invited to submit project proposals within the ”Institutional Partnership in Higher Education for International Development” program administered by the Association Liaison Office (ALO), Washington DC. The participants welcomed cooperation with ALO.

The members were also encouraged to improve cooperation in the area of university libraries.

The participants agreed to the co-funding of the training program ”Management of Continuing Education” to be delivered by Kennesaw State University (which should have taken place in 1998) in September 27 -–October 8, 1999. They were asked to send application forms of training program participants from their home universities to Ms. Erna Beres by June 30, 1999.

The members are requested to use the updated ACRU Web page for exchange of information about activities, events and projects organized by their universities.

Tomas Sabol presented information concerning the Financial Times Management (FTM) and its activities. Based in this presentation and expression of interest by FTM, General Council approved FTM as an Associate Member. The participants were invited to the cooperation with FTM and to propose potential joint activities.

Prof. Rashkevych, as a Country Coordinator, informed General Council that Lviv Medical University, Lviv University of Trade and Forestry, Ivano-Frankivsk Medical Academy have decided to discontinue their membership in ACRU. General Council accepted this information.

Prof. R. Kozlowski presented information concerning the Krakow University of Technology. The General Council approved the University as a full member of ACRU. The ACRU representative of the University will be Vice-rector prof. Marcin Chrzanowski.

Based on the proposal of country coordinators, prof. Karol Florian was proposed as a candidate for the position of the ACRU President. The General Council elected prof. Florian unanimously for ACRU President for the next two years. Then prof. Florian proposed Tomas Sabol for the position of Secretary General and it was approved by the General Council unanimously. It was decided that the next elections would be conducted by secret voting.

General Council approved the proposal that the presidency should circulate every two years among member countries. It was agreed that Polish members would nominate the next presidential candidate(s).

Prof. R. Sliwa, on behalf of Rector prof. A. Ameljanczyk, presented information concerning the Military University of Technology, Warsaw and their request to become a member of ACRU. The General Council approved conditionally the University as a full ACRU member. The approval is subject to submitting a written request for membership to the ACRU President as required by the ACRU Constitution.

The following new members of the Auditing Committee were nominated: prof. Gyula Patko, Hungary and prof. Janusz Golas, Poland.

The participants empowered Secretary General to hire a project officer on ad hoc basis for writing and development of ACRU project proposals.

The members discussed a proposal to launch a student individual mobility program. It was decided to allocate about $1,500 for the next year for students’ mobility grants and to award about 4-5 grants/year. Prof. Rashkevych, as a contact person of the Working Committee for Exchange Programs, will coordinate design and development of the Exchange Program. Then the final decision will be taken by the Executive Committee.

The participants awarded an honorary membership of ACRU to prof. Andrzej Golas in recognition of his contribution to the fulfillment of the ACRU mission and his personal commitment to ACRU. It was decided to continue in awarding honorary memberships to internationally recognized personalities who have contributed to the goals pursued by ACRU.

The participants expressed thanks to the organizers of the Conference, specially to Rector prof. Y. Rudavskyy and Vice-rectors prof. prof. Y. Rashkevych and prof. V. Kozyk.

The next meeting will take place in Hungary. The exact venue will be announced by the Country Coordinator of Hungary by January 2000 at the latest.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:30pm June 2, 1999.

Lviv, June 2, 1999
Tomas Sabol
Secretary General of ACRU

8th ACRU Annual Conference
Nyiregyhaza, Lviv, Ukraine, May 31 – June 2, 1999

Present ACRU universities and their representatives:
  • Rzeszow University of Technology, Rzeszow, prof. Romana Sliwa, Vice-rector
  • Academy of Mining and Metallurgy, Krakow, prof. Janusz Golas
  • Rzeszow Pedagogical University, Rzeszow, prof. Kazimierz Sowa
  • Krakow University of Technology, Krakow, prof. R. Kozlowski, Vice-rector
  • Technical University of Lublin, Lublin, prof. T. Janowski, Vice-rector
  • University of Miskolc, Miskolc, prof. Gyula Patko, Vice-rector
  • Bessenyei College of Higher Education, Nyiregyhaza, prof. L. Filep
  • Lajos Kossuth University, Debrecen, prof. L. Hunyadi
  • Lviv Polytechnic State University, Lviv, prof. Y. Rashkevych, Vice-rector
  • Uzhgorod State Institute of Inf. Sciences, Economics and Law, Uzhgorod, prof. V. Bunda
  • Lviv Academy of Commerce, Lviv, prof. V. Shevchuk
  • Technical University of Kosice, Kosice, prof. Tomas Sabol
  • University of P.J. Safarik, Kosice, Dr. V. Donic

Participants of the Eighth ACRU Annual Conference in Lviv, 1999